Logo: USDA

Farm Service Agency

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 12 South Dakota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | May 13, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

State: South Dakota

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Jan. 3, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Butte

Campbell

Corson

Dewey

Edmunds

Harding

Manufacture
Meade
Perkins
Potter
Walworth
Ziebach
Contiguous Counties also Eligible:
South Dakota:
Brown
Faulk
Haakon
Hyde
Lawrence
Pennington
Stanley
Sully
Montana: Carter and Fallon
 North Dakota: Adams, Bowman, Dickey, Emmons, McIntosh and Sioux
Wyoming: Crook
For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center
visit farmers.gov/recover.
Farm Service Agency:
Falli bervice Auency:

1400 Independence Ave.

SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov