

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 48 North Dakota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | South Dakota | May 13, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

State: North Dakota

Triggering Disaster #1: Drought that occurred during April 15, 2020 and continuing.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Adams	Dunn	Grant	Stark
Billings	Golden Valley	Mercer	Williams

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

North Dakota:

Bowman	Hettinger	Morton	Sioux
Burke	McKenzie	Mountrail	Slope

Divide	McLean	Oliver	
--------	--------	--------	--

Montana: Fallon, Richland, Roosevelt, Sheridan and Wibaux

South Dakota: Corson, Harding and Perkins

Triggering Disaster #2: Drought, freeze and frost that occurred during July 15, 2020, and continuing.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Bottineau	Kidder	Pierce
Divide	McHenry	Wells

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

North Dakota:

Benson	Foster	Sheridan
Burke	Logan	Stutsman
Burleigh	McLean	Towner
Eddy	Renville	Ward
Emmons	Rolette	Williams

Montana: Sheridan

Triggering Disaster #3: Drought, freeze and frost that occurred during April 15, 2020, and continuing.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible: Bowman and Slope

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

North Dakota: Adams, Billings, Golden Valley, Hettinger and Stark

Montana: Fallon

South Dakota: Harding

Triggering Disaster #4: Frost that occurred September 7 through September 15, 2020.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Burke	McLean	Renville	Ward
Burleigh	Mountrail	Rolette	

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

North Dakota:

Bottineau	Kidder	Morton	Sheridan
Divide	McHenry	Oliver	Towner
Dunn	McKenzie	Pierce	Williams
Emmons	Mercer		

<u>Triggering Disaster #5</u>: Excessive moisture and rain that occurred January 1 through June 5, 2020.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible: Cavalier, Ramsey and Towner

Contiguous Counties also Eligible: Benson, Nelson, Pembina, Pierce, Rolette and Walsh

<u>Triggering Disaster #6</u>: Excessive moisture/rain and flooding that occurred January 1 through August 1, 2020.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Barnes	Emmons	Logan	Walsh
Dickey	Foster	Nelson	Wells
Eddy	Grand Forks	Sheridan	

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

North Dakota:

Benson	Kidder	Morton	Sargent
Burleigh	LaMoure	Pembina	Sioux
Cass	McHenry	Pierce	Steele
Cavalier	McIntosh	Ramsey	Stutsman
Griggs	McLean	Ransom	Traill

Minnesota: Marshall and Polk

South Dakota: Brown, Campbell, Corson and McPherson

<u>Triggering Disaster #7</u>: Excessive moisture/rain, flooding and frost that occurred January 1 through September 15, 2020.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Benson	LaMoure	Pembina	Steele
Cass	McHenry	Ransom	Stutsman
Griggs	McIntosh	Sargent	Traill

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

North Dakota:

Barnes	Grand Forks	Renville
Bottineau	Kidder	Richland
Cavalier	Logan	Sheridan
Dickey	McLean	Towner
Eddy	Nelson	Walsh
Emmons	Pierce	Ward
Foster	Ramsey	Wells

Minnesota: Clay, Kittson, Marshall, Norman and Polk

South Dakota: Brown, Campbell, McPherson, Marshall and Roberts

<u>Triggering Disaster #8</u>: Excessive moisture/rain and frost that occurred during April 15 through June 5, 2020.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible: Kidder

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

North Dakota: Burleigh, Emmons, Logan, Sheridan, Stutsman and Wells

Triggering Disaster #9: Hail that occurred July 24, 2020.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible: Sioux

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

North Dakota: Adams, Emmons, Grant and Morton

South Dakota: Corson

Triggering Disaster #10: Hail that occurred August 12, 2020.

Application Deadline: December 27, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible: Sioux

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

North Dakota: Adams, Emmons, Grant and Morton

South Dakota: Corson

For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center visit farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov