USDA Designates Three North Carolina Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | May 19, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

State: North Carolina

Triggering Disaster: Excessive rain that occurred from Oct. 20, 2020, through Feb. 21, 2021

Application Deadline: Jan. 10, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Chowan, Granville and Perquimans

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

- North Carolina: Bertie, Durham, Franklin, Gates, Hertford, Pasquotank, Person, Vance, Wake and Washington
- Virginia: Halifax and Mecklenburg

For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center visit farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250 Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov