

USDA Designates Three Minnesota Counties as Contiguous Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Minnesota | May 19, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see <u>http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/</u>), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

State: lowa

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: December 2, 2021

Primary Counties Eligible:

Cherokee	Lyon	Osceola	Plymouth
Clay	O'Brien	Palo Alto	Sioux

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

lowa:

Buena Vista	Humboldt	Pocahontas
Dickinson	Ida	Sac
Emmet	Kossuth	Woodbury

Minnesota: Jackson, Nobles and Rock

South Dakota: Lincoln, Minnehaha and Union

For more information on FSA disaster assistance programs or to find your local USDA Service Center visit farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov