Logo: USDA

# Farm Service Agency

#### U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

## **USDA Designates Six Illinois Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas**

Emergency Designation | July 06, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Illinois

**Triggering Disaster:** Drought

Application Deadline: Feb. 22, 2022

### **Primary Counties Eligible:**

Boone	DeKalb	Lake
Cook	Kane	McHenry

### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

#### Illinois:

DuPage	LaSalle	Ogle	Winnebago

Kendall Lee	Will	
-------------	------	--

Indiana: Lake

Wisconsin: Kenosha, Rock and Walworth

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

# Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

### **Contact:**

**FPAC Press Desk** 

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov