Logo: USDA

# Farm Service Agency

#### U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

# USDA Designates 16 South Dakota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | July 06, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: South Dakota

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Feb. 25, 2022

## **Primary Counties Eligible**:

Aurora	Charles Mix	Hyde	Stanley
Bon Homme	Douglas	Lincoln	Sully
Brown	Gregory	Lyman	Union
Brule	Hughes	Pennington	Yankton

### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

South Dakota:

Buffalo	Hand	Mellette
Clay	Hutchinson	Minnehaha
Custer	Jackson	Oglala Lakota
Davison	Jerauld	Potter
Day	Jones	Sanborn
Dewey	Lawrence	Spink
Edmunds	McPherson	Tripp
Faulk	Marshall	Turner
Haakon	Meade	Ziebach

Iowa: Lyon, Plymouth, Sioux and Woodbury

Nebraska: Boyd, Cedar, Dakota, Dixon, Keya Paha and Knox

North Dakota: Dickey and Sargent

Wyoming: Weston

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster-at-a-Glance</u> fact sheet, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

# **Farm Service Agency:**

1400 Independence Ave.SW Washington, DC 20250

## **Contact:**

