

# USDA Designates 14 Idaho Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | Oregon | July 06, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see <u>http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/</u>), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Idaho

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Feb. 22, 2022

#### Primary Counties Eligible:

Adams	Bonneville	Gem
Bannock	Butte	Kootenai
Benewah	Camas	Latah
Boise	Franklin	

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

Idaho:

Ada	Clark	Lemhi	Power
Bear Lake	Clearwater	Lewis	Shoshone
Bingham	Custer	Madison	Teton
Blaine	Elmore	Minidoka	Valley
Bonner	Gooding	Payette	Washingto
Canyon	Idaho		
Caribou	Jefferson		
Cassia	Jerome		

### **Oregon: Baker and Wallowa**

Utah: Box Elder, Cache and Rich

Washington: Asotin, Spokane and Whitman

Wyoming: Lincoln and Teton

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm</u> <u>Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

## Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

**Contact:** FPAC Press Desk

## FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov