

USDA Designates Six Illinois Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | Illinois | July 11, 2021

View PDF

USDA Designates Six Illinois Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. *Illinois FSA requests that producers wait until the crop is harvested before inquiring about emergency loan assistance.*

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see <u>http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/</u>), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Illinois

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Feb. 22, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Boone	DeKalb	Lake
Cook	Kane	McHenry

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Illinois:

DuPage	LaSalle	Ogle	Winnebag
Kendall	Lee	Will	

Indiana: Lake

Wisconsin: Kenosha, Rock and Walworth

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm</u> <u>Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov