USDA Designates Six Idaho Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Emergency Designation | July 14, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Idaho

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: March 7, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Bonner	Cassia	Idaho
Boundary	Clearwater	Lewis

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Idaho:

Adams	Lemhi	Power

Blaine	Minidoka	Shoshone
Jerome	Nez Perce	Twin Falls
Kootenai	Oneida	Valley
Latah		

Montana: Lincoln, Mineral, Missoula, Ravalli and Sanders Nevada: Elko Oregon: Wallowa Utah: Box Elder Washington: Pend Oreille and Spokane

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm</u> <u>Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov