Logo: USDA

Farm Service Agency

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 11 Minnesota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | July 30, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Minnesota

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: March 16, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Becker	Clearwater	Pennington	Todd
Beltrami	Hubbard	Red Lake	Wadena
Cass	Kittson	Stearns	

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Minnesota:

Aitkin	Itasca	Marshall	Polk
Benton	Kandiyohi	Meeker	Pope
Clay	Koochiching	Morrison	Roseau
Crow Wing	Lake of the Woods	Norman	Sherburne
Douglas	Mahnomen	Otter Tail	Wright

North Dakota: Pembina

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov