USDA Designates Seven South Dakota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | July 30, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: South Dakota

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: March 16, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Haakon	Jackson	Lake	Moody
Hand	Jones	Mellette	

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

South Dakota:

Beadle	Jerauld	Oglala Lakota	
		5	

Bennett	Kingsbury	Pennington
Brookings	Lyman	Spink
Buffalo	McCook	Stanley
Dewey	Meade	Todd
Faulk	Miner	Tripp
Hyde	Minnehaha	Ziebach

Minnesota: Lincoln, Pipestone and Rock

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm</u> <u>Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov