Logo: USDA

## Farm Service Agency

#### U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

# **USDA Designates Six Montana Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas**

Emergency Designation | July 30, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Montana

**Triggering Disaster**: Drought

Application Deadline: March 16, 2022

### **Primary Counties Eligible:**

Broadwater	Jefferson	Meagher
Cascade	Judith Basin	Silver Bow

## Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Beaverhead	Fergus	Madison	Sweet Grass
Chouteau	Gallatin	Park	Teton

Deer Lodge	Lewis and Clark	Powell	Wheatland	

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

# **Farm Service Agency:**

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

### **Contact:**

**FPAC Press Desk** 

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov