

USDA Designates 14 Minnesota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | Wisconsin | August 05, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Minnesota

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: March 28, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Crow Wing	Koochiching	Norman	Roseau
Douglas	Lake of the Woods	Otter Tail	St. Louis
Grant	Mahnomen	Роре	Stevens
Itasca	Morrison		

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Minnesota:

Aitkin	Cass	Lake	Swift
Becker	Clay	Marshall	Todd
Beltrami	Clearwater	Mille Lacs	Traverse
Benton	Kandiyohi	Polk	Wadena
Big Stone	Kittson	Stearns	Wilkin
Carlton			

North Dakota: Cass and Traill Wisconsin: Douglas

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm</u> <u>Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov