Logo: USDA

Farm Service Agency
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

# USDA Designates Three Montana Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | August 30, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Montana

**Triggering Disaster**: Drought

Application Deadline: April 11, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Deer Lodge, Liberty and Ravalli

### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

#### Montana:

Beaverhead	Granite	Jefferson	Pondera	Silver Bow
Chouteau	Hill	Missoula	Powell	Toole

Idaho: Idaho and Lemhi

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

## Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

#### **Contact:**

**FPAC Press Desk** 

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov