

# USDA Designates 17 Minnesota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | Minnesota | August 30, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Minnesota

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: April 11, 2022

### Primary Counties Eligible:

Chippewa	Lac Qui Parle	Meeker	Redwood
Faribault	Lincoln	Nobles	Renville
Jackson	Lyon	Pipestone	Rock
Kandiyohi	Martin		

### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

#### Minnesota:

Anoka	Carver	McLeod	Sibley
Benton	Cottonwood	Mille Lacs	Stearns
Big Stone	Freeborn	Murray	Swift
Blue Earth	Hennepin	Nicollet	Waseca
Brown	Isanti	Pope	Watonwar

Iowa: Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Lyon, Osceola and Winnebago

South Dakota: Brookings, Deuel, Grant, Minnehaha and Moody

# Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

## **Contact:**

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov