Logo: USDA		I
------------	--	---

USDA Designates Osborne County, Kansas, as a Primary Natural Disaster Area

Emergency Designation | September 01, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Kansas

Triggering Disaster: Excessive rain and flash flooding that occurred from May 16 through May 20, 2021.

Application Deadline: April 11, 2022

Primary County Eligible: Osborne

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Ellis, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Rooks, Russell and Smith

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov