

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 12 Minnesota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | September 01, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Minnesota

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: April 11, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Aitkin	Cook	Isanti	Mille Lacs
Anoka	Freeborn	Lake	Mower
Benton	Hennepin	McLeod	Watonwan

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Minnesota:

Blue Earth	Fillmore	St. Louis
Brown	Itasca	Scott
Carlton	Jackson	Sherburne
Carver	Kanabec	Sibley
Cass	Martin	Stearns
Chisago	Meeker	Steele
Cottonwood	Morrison	Waseca
Crow Wing	Olmsted	Washington
Dakota	Pine	Wright
Dodge	Ramsey	
Faribault	Renville	

Iowa: Howard, Mitchell, Winnebago and Worth

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov		