

USDA Designates 13 Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas – Excessive Moisture

News Release | Texas | September 02, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Texas

<u>**Triggering Disaster Event #1**</u>: Excessive moisture and excessive rainfall that occurred during March 1 through July 1, 2021

Application Deadline: April 18, 2022

Primary County Eligible: Bowie

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Texas: Cass, Morris and Red River

Arkansas: Little River and Miller

Oklahoma: McCurtain

<u>**Triggering Disaster Event #2**</u>: Excessive moisture and excessive rainfall that occurred during April 1 through July 18, 2021

Application Deadline: April 18, 2022

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

Texas:

Archer	Henderson	Rockwall
Brazoria	Hill	Stonewall
Calhoun	Hopkins	Tarrant
Collin	Johnson	Throckmorton
Colorado	Kaufman	Van Zandt
Dallas	King	Victoria
Delta	Lavaca	Wharton
Fannin	Navarro	Wichita
Foard	Rains	Wilbarger
Haskell	Red River	Young

Oklahoma: Bryan and Choctaw

<u>**Triggering Disaster Event #3**</u>: Excessive moisture and excessive rainfall that occurred during May 15 through July 19, 2021

Application Deadline: April 18, 2022

Primary County Eligible: Wharton

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Austin, Brazoria, Colorado, Fort Bend, Jackson and Matagorda

<u>**Triggering Disaster Event #4**</u>: Excessive moisture and excessive rainfall that occurred during June 7 through July 27, 2021

Application Deadline: April 18, 2022

Primary County Eligible: Brazos, Burleson, Grimes and Walker

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Houston, Lee, Leon, Madison, Milam, Montgomery, Robertson, San Jacinto, Trinity, Waller and Washington

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm</u> <u>Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov