Logo: USDA

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Seven Minnesota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | September 09, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Minnesota

Triggering Disaster Event: Drought

Application Deadline: April 27, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Big Stone, Brown, Carlton, Murray, Nicollet, Sibley and Swift

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Minnesota:

| Aitkin | Lac Qui Parle | Pipestone | St. Louis |
|------------|---------------|-----------|-----------|
| Blue Earth | Le Sueur | Pope | Scott |
| Carver | Lyon | Redwood | Stevens |
| Chippewa | McLeod | Renville | Traverse |
| Cottonwood | Nobles | Rock | Watonwan |

| Kandiyohi | Pine | | |
|-----------|------|--|--|
|-----------|------|--|--|

South Dakota: Grant and Roberts

Wisconsin: Douglas

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov