Logo: USDA

Farm Service Agency

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Six Connecticut Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | September 09, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Connecticut

Triggering Disaster Event: Tropical Storm Elsa that occurred from July 9 through July 23, 2021

Application Deadline: May 2, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Hartford, Litchfield, Middlesex, New Haven, Tolland and Windham

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Connecticut: Fairfield and New London

Massachusetts: Berkshire, Hampden and Worcester

New York: Dutchess

Rhode Island: Kent and Providence

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov