Logo: USDA	Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 28 Mississippi Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Arkansas | September 24, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Mississippi

Triggering Disaster Event #1: Excessive rain and flash flooding that occurred during April 10 through July 12, 2021

Application Deadline: May 13, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Adams, Franklin, Jefferson Davis, Lawrence, Lincoln and Wilkinson

Contiguous Counties/Parishes Also Eligible:

Mississippi

Amite	Jefferson	Pike
Copiah	Lamar	Simpson
Covington	Marion	Walthall

Louisiana: Concordia, East Feliciana, Tensas and West Feliciana

Triggering Disaster Event #2: Rain, flash flooding and flooding that occurred during June 1 through June 19, 2021

Application Deadline: May 13, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Attala	Grenada	Marshall	Quitman	Tunica
Bolivar	Holmes	Montgomery	Sunflower	Washington
Carroll	Lee	Panola	Tallahatchie	Yalobusha
Coahoma	Leflore			

Contiguous Counties also Eligible:

Mississippi

Benton	Itawamba	Prentiss
Calhoun	Lafayette	Sharkey
Chickasaw	Leake	Tate
Choctaw	Madison	Union
DeSoto	Monroe	Webster
Humphreys	Neshoba	Winston
Issaquena	Pontotoc	Yazoo

Arkansas: Chicot, Crittenden, Desha, Lee and Phillips

Tennessee: Fayette and Shelby

Triggering Disaster Event #3: Tropical Storm, rain, flash floods and high winds that occurred during

June 19 through June 25, 2021

Application Deadline: May 13, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: George, Jackson and Stone

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Mississippi: Forrest, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Pearl River and Perry Alabama: Mobile

Triggering Disaster Event #4: Rain and flash floods that occurred during April 10 through June 17, 2021

Application Deadline: May 13, 2022

Primary County Eligible: Greene

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Mississippi: George, Perry and Wayne Alabama: Mobile and Washington

Triggering Disaster Event #5: Excessive rain that occurred during April 10 through June 17, 2021

Application Deadline: May 13, 2022

Primary County Eligible: Wayne

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Mississippi: Clark, Greene, Jasper, Jones and Perry Alabama: Choctaw and Washington

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov