

USDA Designates Five New Jersey Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | New York | October 15, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: New Jersey

Triggering Disaster #1: Excessive rain that occurred during Aug. 21 through Sept. 2, 2021.

Application Deadline: June 7, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Morris, Sussex and Warren

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

New Jersey: Essex, Hunterdon, Passaic, Somerset and Union

New York: Orange

Pennsylvania: Bucks, Monroe, Northampton and Pike

Triggering Disaster #2: Hurricane Ida that occurred during Sept. 1 through Sept. 2, 2021

Application Deadline: June 7, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Hunterdon and Somerset

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

New Jersey: Mercer, Middlesex, Morris, Union, and Warren

Pennsylvania: Bucks

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov