

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Eight Oklahoma Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Oklahoma | October 18, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Oklahoma

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: June 6, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Creek, Hughes, Noble, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Osage, Pawnee and Tulsa

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Oklahoma:

Coal	McIntosh	Pottawatomie
Garfield	Muskogee	Rogers
Kay	Payne	Seminole

Lincoln	Pittsburg	Wagoner
Logan	Pontotoc	Washington

Kansas: Chautauqua and Cowley

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov