Logo: USDA

Farm Service Agency

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Four Georgia Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Florida | October 28, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Georgia

<u>Triggering Disaster:</u> Tropical Storm Elsa, excessive wind and excessive rainfall that occurred July 7, 2021

Application Deadline: June 20, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Echols, Lanier, Lowndes and Pierce

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Georgia:

Appling	Bacon	Brantley	Clinch	Wa
Atkinson	Berrien	Brooks	Cook	Wa

Florida: Columbia, Hamilton and Madison

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of

Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

#

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov