

### USDA Designates Four Georgia Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | Georgia | October 28, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

#### Impacted Area: Georgia

<u>**Triggering Disaster**</u>: Tropical Storm Elsa, excessive wind and excessive rainfall that occurred July 7, 2021

Application Deadline: June 20, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Echols, Lanier, Lowndes and Pierce

#### Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Georgia:

Appling	Bacon	Brantley	Clinch	Ware
Atkinson	Berrien	Brooks	Cook	Wayne

Florida: Columbia, Hamilton and Madison

#### More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of

Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

# Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

## **Contact:**

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov