

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Nine Mississippi Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Louisiana | December 16, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Mississippi

Triggering Disaster: Strong winds and heavy rainfall due to Hurricane Ida/Tropical Storm Ida that occurred from August 29 through August 31, 2021.

Application Deadline: Aug. 8, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Franklin

Jackson

Marion

George

Kemper

Pike

Hancock

Lincoln

Walthall

Contiguous Counties/Parishes Also Eligible:

Jefferson Davis Noxubee Amite Lamar **Pearl River** Copiah Lauderdale Perry Greene Lawrence Stone Harrison Neshoba Wilkinson **Jefferson** Newton Winston

Mississippi:

Adams

More Resources

Alabama: Mobile and Sumter

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Louisiana: Orleans, St. Bernard, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa and Washington

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov		