

## Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

# USDA Designates Seven Alabama Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Alabama | December 13, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Alabama

<u>Triggering Disaster:</u> Excessive rainfall and flooding caused by Tropical Storm Ida that occurred from Aug. 29, 2021 and continuing.

**Application Deadline**: Aug. 8, 2022

#### **Primary Counties Eligible:**

Baldwin	Elmore	Mobile	Tallapoosa
Dale	Escambia	Montgomery	

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

Alabama:

Autauga	Clay	Geneva	Macon
Barbour	Coffee	Henry	Monroe

Bullock	Conecuh	Houston	Pike
Chambers	Coosa	Lee	Randolph
Chilton	Covington	Lowndes	Washington
Clarke	Crenshaw		

Florida: Escambia, Okaloosa and Santa Rosa Mississippi: George, Greene and Jackson

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

### Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave.SW Washington, DC 20250

### **Contact:**

**FPAC Press Desk** 

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov