Logo: USDA

Farm Service Agency

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 17 Florida Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | March 23, 2022

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Florida

Triggering Disaster: Freeze, frost and ice that occurred from Jan. 23 through Jan. 31, 2022

Application Deadline: Nov. 21, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Broward	Hardee	Indian River	Okeechobee	Polk
Collier	Hendry	Manatee	Osceola	St. Lucie
DeSoto	Highlands	Martin	Palm Beach	Sarasota
Glades	Hillsborough			

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Brevard	Lee	Orange	Pinellas
Charlotte	Miami-Dade	Pasco	Sumter

Lake	Monroe		
------	--------	--	--

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov