Logo: USDA

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 20 Arkansas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | April 26, 2022

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Arkansas

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Dec. 8, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Arkansas

Arkansas	Clark	Drew	Miller
Ashley	Cleveland	Hempstead	Nevada
Bradley	Columbia	Lafayette	Ouachita
Calhoun	Dallas	Lincoln	Sevier

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Arkansas:

Grant	Jefferson	Montgomery	Polk
Hot Spring	Lonoke	Phillips	Prairie
Howard	Monroe	Pike	

Louisiana: Bossier, Claiborne, Morehouse, Webster, Caddo, East Carroll, Union, West Carroll

Mississippi: Bolivar, Issaguena, Washington

Oklahoma: McCurtain Texas: Bowie, Cass

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave.SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov