

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 174 Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Louisiana | April 26, 2022

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Texas

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Dec. 8, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Anderson	Dallam	Hudspeth	Nacogdoches
Andrews	Dallas	Hunt	Navarro
Angelina	Dawson	Hutchinson	Nolan
Archer	Deaf Smith	Irion	Ochiltree
Armstrong	Delta	Jeff Davis	Oldham

Atascosa	Denton	Jefferson	Orange	
Bailey	Dickens	Jim Hogg	Palo Pinto	
Bandera	Dimmit	Jim Wells	Panola	
Baylor	Donley	Johnson	Parker	
Bee	Duval	Jones	Parmer	
Bell	Eastland	Karnes	Pecos	
Bexar	Ector	Kaufman	Potter	
Blanco	Edwards	Kendall	Presidio	
Borden	Ellis	Kent	Rains	
Bosque	Erath	Kerr	Randall	
Bowie	Fannin	Kimble	Reagan	
Brewster	Fisher	King Real Kinney Red Rive	Real	
Briscoe	Floyd		Red River	
Brooks	Foard	Knox	Reeves	
Brown	Franklin	Lamar	Roberts	
Burnet	Frio	Lamb	Rockwall	
Callahan	Gaines	Lampasas	Runnels	
Camp	Garza	La Salle	Rusk	
Carson	Gillespie	Lipscomb	San Augustine	

Cass	Glasscock	Live Oak	San Saba	
Castro	Gray	Llano	Schleicher	
Cherokee	Grayson	Loving	Scurry	
Childress	Gregg	Lubbock	Shackelford	
Clay	Hale	Lynn	Shelby	
Cochran	Hall	McCulloch	Sherman	
Coke	Hamilton	McLennan	Smith	
Coleman	Hansford	McMullen	Somervell	
Collin	Hardeman	Marion	Starr	
Collingsworth	Harrison	Martin	Stephens	
Comal	Hartley	Mason	Sterling	
Comanche	Haskell	Maverick	Stonewall	
Concho	Hemphill	Medina	Sutton	
Cooke	Henderson	Midland	Swisher	
Coryell	Hill	Mills	Tarrant	
Cottle	Hockley	Mitchell	Taylor	
Crane		Hood		Montag
Crockett		Hopkins		Moore

Crosby	Houston	Morris
Culberson	Howard	Motley

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Texas:			
Chambers	Jack	Nueces	Upshur
DeWitt	Jasper	Polk	Upton
El Paso	Kenedy	Refugio	Uvalde
Falls	Kleberg	Sabine	Val Verde
Freestone	Leon	San Patricio	Van Zandt
Goliad	Liberty	Throckmorton	Walker
Gonzales	Limestone	Titus	Ward
Guadalupe	Madison	Tom Green	Webb
Hardin	Menard	Travis	Wheeler
Hays	Milam	Trinity	Wichita
Hidalgo	Newton	Tyler	

Arkansas: Little River, Miller

Louisiana: Caddo, Calcasieu, Cameron, De Soto, Sabine

New Mexico: Curry, Eddy, Lea, Otero, Quay, Roosevelt, Union

Oklahoma: Beaver, Beckham, Bryan, Choctaw, Cimarron, Cotton, Ellis, Harmon, Jackson, Jefferson,

Love, McCurtain, Marshall, Roger Mills, Texas

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov