

USDA Designates Five Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | Texas | April 28, 2022

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Texas

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Dec. 19, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Goliad, Menard, San Patricio, Travis and Williamson

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Texas:

Aransas	DeWitt	Mason
Bastrop	Hays	Milam
Вее	Jim Wells	Nueces

Bell	Karnes	Refugio
Blanco	Kimble	Schleicher
Burnet	Lee	Sutton
Caldwell	Live Oak	Tom Green
Concho	McCulloch	Victoria

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov