

# Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

## USDA Designates 13 Nevada Counties and 58 California Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Nevada | April 28, 2022

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Nevada

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Dec. 8, 2022

### **Primary Counties Eligible:**

Churchill	Esmeralda	Lander	Mineral
Clark	Eureka	Lincoln	Nye
Elko	Humboldt	Lyon	

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

Nevada: Douglas, Pershing, Storey, Carson City

Arizona: Mohave

California: Inyo, Lassen, Modoc, Mono, Nevada, Placer, San Bernardino, Sierra

Idaho: Cassia, Owyhee, Twin Falls Oregon: Harney, Lake, Malheur

Utah: Beaver, Box Elder, Iron, Juab, Millard, Tooele, Washington

Impacted Area: California

**Triggering Disaster:** Drought

Application Deadline: Dec. 8, 2022

### **Primary Counties Eligible**:

Alameda	Imperial	Modoc	San [
Alpine	Inyo	Mono	San F
Amador	Kern	Monterey	San J
Butte	Kings	Napa	San L
Calaveras	Lake	Nevada	San N
Colusa	Lassen	Orange	Santa
Contra Costa	Los Angeles	Placer	Santa
Del Norte	Madera	Plumas	Santa
El Dorado	Marin	Riverside	Shast
Fresno	Mariposa	Sacramento	Sierra
Glenn	Mendocino	San Benito	Siskiy
Humboldt	Merced	San Bernardino	

## **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

Arizona: La Paz, Mohave, Yuma

Nevada: Carson City, Clark, Douglas, Esmeralda, Lyon, Mineral, Nye, Washoe

Oregon: Curry, Jackson, Josephine, Klamath, Lake

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

## Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

#### **Contact:**

**FPAC Press Desk** 

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov