Logo: USDA

Farm Service Agency

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Two Georgia Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | August 25, 2022

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Georgia

Triggering Disaster #1: A tornado that occurred on April 6, 2022

Application Deadline: April 10, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Brooks

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Georgia: Colquitt, Cook, Lowndes and Thomas

Florida: Hamilton, Jefferson and Madison

Impacted Area: Georgia

Triggering Disaster #2: High winds that occurred during June 15 through June 18, 2022

Application Deadline: April 10, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Baldwin

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Georgia: Hancock, Jones, Putnam, Washington and Wilkinson

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet,

and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov