

# Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

# <u>USDA Designates Four Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas –</u> Burleson, Fayette, Liberty and Washington

News Release | Texas | August 26, 2022

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

**Impacted Area**: Texas

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: March 27, 2023

**Primary Counties Eligible:** Burleson, Fayette, Liberty and Washington

### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

#### Texas:

Austin	Colorado	Jefferson	Polk
Bastrop	Gonzales	Lavaca	Robertson
Brazos	Grimes	Lee	San Jacinto

Caldwell	Hardin	Milam	Waller
Chambers	Harris	Montgomery	

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

# Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave.SW Washington, DC 20250

## **Contact:**

**FPAC Press Desk** 

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov