Logo: USDA		I
------------	--	---

USDA Designates Three Montana Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | October 26, 2022

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Montana

Triggering Disaster #1: Excessive rain, hail, high winds, and a tornado that occurred during June 7 through July 9, 2022.

Application Deadline: May 15, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Liberty

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Montana: Chouteau, Hill, Pondera and Toole

Impacted Area: Montana

Triggering Disaster #2: Excessive rain, hail, and high winds that occurred during June 11 through July 10, 2022.

Application Deadline: May 15, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Big Horn and Wibaux

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Montana:

Carbon	Powder River	Rosebud
Dawson	Prairie	Treasure
Fallon	Richland	Yellowstone

North Dakota: Golden Valley and McKenzie

Wyoming: Big Horn and Sheridan

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov