

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Nine Minnesota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | South Dakota | November 14, 2022

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Minnesota

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: June 12, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Murray, Nicollet, Pipestone, Redwood, Rice and

Wright

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Minnesota:

Blue Earth	Dakota	Le Sueur	Rock	Sterns
Brown	Dodge	Meeker	Scott	Steele

Carver	Goodhue	Nobles	Sherburne	Waseca
Cottonwood	Hennepin	Renville	Sibley	Yellow Medicine

South Dakota: Brookings, Deuel, Minnehaha and Moody

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov