Logo: USDA	
------------	--

USDA Designates 14 Kentucky Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Emergency Designation | November 28, 2022

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Kentucky

<u>**Triggering Disaster:**</u> Excessive rain, landslides, flooding, and flash flooding that occurred from July 26 through July 29, 2022

Application Deadline: June 26, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Breathitt, Lee, Martin, Perry, Floyd, Leslie, Morgan, Pike, Johnson, Letcher, Owsley, Wolfe, Knott and Magoffin

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Kentucky: Bell, Estill, Lawrence, Powell, Clay, Harlan, Menifee, Rowan, Elliott and Jackson

Virginia: Buchanan, Dickenson and Wise

West Virginia: Mingo and Wayne

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov