

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Four Nebraska Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Iowa | November 07, 2022

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Nebraska

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: June 5, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Butler, Dawes, Douglas and Saunders

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Nebraska: Box, Butte, Cass, Colfax, Dodge Lancaster, Platte,

Polk, Sarpy, Seward, Sheridan, Sioux, Washington, York.

Iowa: Pottawattamie

South Dakota: Fall River and Oglala Lakota

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov