

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 92 Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Texas | February 10, 2023

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Texas

Triggering Disaster: Excessive heat that occurred from May 1 through September 30, 2022

Application Deadline: Sept. 13, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible:

Anderson	Deaf Smith	Hutchinson	Randall
Aransas	Denton	Jack	Roberts
Armstrong	DeWitt	Jackson	Robertson
Austin	Duval	Karnes	San Patricio
Baylor	Ector	Kleberg	Schleicher
Bee	Ellis	Lamar	Scurry
Bexar	Fannin	Lamb	Sterling

Brazos	Floyd	Leon	Stonewall
Briscoe	Foard	Liberty	Sutton
Burleson	Gaines	Live Oak	Terry
Calhoun	Glasscock	Lynn	Throckmorton
Carson	Gray	McMullen	Tom Green
Castro	Grayson	Madison	Val Verde
Chambers	Grimes	Martin	Victoria
Childress	Hansford	Medina	Walker
Clay	Hardeman	Menard	Waller
Cochran	Hardin	Midland	Washington
Coke	Harris	Mitchell	Webb
Collin	Haskell	Montgomery	Wharton
Colorado	Hemphill	Navarro	Wheeler
Concho	Hill	Nueces	Wilbarger
Cooke	Houston	Oldham	Yoakum
Dawson	Howard	Potter	Young

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Texas:

Andrews	Freestone	La Salle	Nolan	Stephens
Angelina	Frio	Lavaca	Ochiltree	Swisher
Archer	Galveston	Lee	Orange	Tarrant
Atascosa	Garza	Limestone	Palo Pinto	Terrell
Bailey	Goliad	Lipscomb	Parker	Trinity
Bandera	Gonzales	Lubbock	Parmer	Tyler
Borden	Guadalupe	McCulloch	Polk	Upton
Bosque	Hale	McLennan	Reagan	Uvalde
Brazoria	Hall	Mason	Red River	Ward
Brooks	Hartley	Matagorda	Refugio	Wichita
Cherokee	Henderson	Maverick	Rockwall	Wilson
Coleman	Hockley	Milam	Runnels	Winkler
Collingsworth	Hunt	Montague	San Jacinto	Wise
Comal	Irion	Moore	Shackelford	Zapata
Cottle	Jasper	Motley	Sherman	Zavala
Crane	Jefferson			
Crockett	Jim Hogg			
Crosby	Jim Wells			

Dallas	Johnson		
Delta	Jones		
Dickens	Kaufman		
Dimmit	Kendall		
Donley	Kenedy		
Edwards	Kent		
Falls	Kimble		
Fayette	King		
Fisher	Kinney		
Fort Bend	Knox		

New Mexico: Curry, Lea, Quay and Roosevelt

Oklahoma:

Beckham	Cotton	Jackson	Marshall	Texas
Bryan	Ellis	Jefferson	Roger Mills	Tillman
Choctaw	Harmon	Love		

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov