

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Four Illinois Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Illinois | February 13, 2023

View PDF

SPRINGFIELD, Illinois, February 13, 2023 – This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Illinois

Triggering Disaster: Excessive moisture and flash flooding that occurred from July 26 through

August 12, 2022

Application Deadline: July 21, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Edwards, Jefferson, Washington and Wayne

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Illinois: Clay, Clinton, Franklin, Hamilton, Marion, Perry, Randolph, Richland, St. Clair, Wabash and White.

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center.</u>

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov