

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 16 New Jersey Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | New Jersey | February 13, 2023

View PDF

Contact:

Gabor.Grunstein@usda.gov

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: New Jersey

<u>Triggering Disaster #1:</u> Drought and excessive heat that occurred during July 1 through August 19,

2022

Application Deadline: Aug. 21, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Morris, Sussex and Warren

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

New Jersey: Essex, Hunterdon, Passaic, Somerset and Union

New York: Orange

Pennsylvania: Bucks, Monroe, Northampton and Pike

Impacted Area: New Jersey

Triggering Disaster #2: Drought that occurred during July 1 through September 14, 2022

_

Application Deadline: Aug. 21, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Hunterdon and Somerset

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

New Jersey: Mercer, Middlesex, Morris, Union and Warren

Pennsylvania: Bucks

Impacted Area: New Jersey

Triggering Disaster #3: Drought and excessive heat that occurred during June 18 through

September 5, 2022

_

Application Deadline: Aug. 21, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Burlington, Camden and Ocean

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

New Jersey: Atlantic, Gloucester, Mercer and Monmouth

Pennsylvania: Bucks and Philadelphia

Impacted Area: New Jersey

Triggering Disaster #4: Drought and excessive heat that occurred during July 1, 2022, and

continuing

Application Deadline: Aug. 21, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Mercer, Middlesex,

Monmouth and Salem

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

New Jersey: Burlington, Camden, Hunterdon, Ocean, Somerset and Union

Delaware: Kent and New Castle

New York: Richmond

Pennsylvania: Bucks, Delaware and Philadelphia

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov