

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates 12 Additional Kentucky Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas - (M

News Release | Indiana | May 31, 2023

View PDF

Indiana Counties of Clark, Floyd, Harrison, Posey, Vanderburgh and Warrick

Indianapolis, May 31, 2023 - This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Kentucky

Triggering Disaster: Severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes, flooding, landslides and mudslides that occurred March 3, 2023 through March 4, 2023

Application Deadline: January 18, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: 12 Additional Kentucky Counties

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

• Indiana: Clark, Floyd, Harrison, Posey, Vanderburgh and Warrick

Kentucky: 26 Additional Counties

• Tennessee: Campbell, Clay, Pickett and Scott

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the? <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>,? <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and? <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u>? can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit fema.gov/assistance.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov