

Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates Four Georgia Counties Contiguous Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Georgia | June 08, 2023

View PDF

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Georgia

Triggering Disaster: Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, and Tornadoes

Application Deadline: January 5, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Alabama: Chambers, Colbert, Coosa, Elmore, Lauderdale, Macon, Marion, Morgan, Randolph, Tallapoosa

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Alabama: Autauga, Bullock, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Cullman, Fayette, Franklin, Lamar, Lawrence, Lee, Limestone, Madison, Marshall, Montgomery, Russell, Shelby, Talladega, Walker, Winston

Georgia: Carroll, Harris, Heard, Troup

Mississippi: Itawamba, Monroe, Tishomingo

Tennessee: Giles, Hardin, Lawrence, Wayne

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit <u>fema.gov/assistance</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov