

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 13 Missouri Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Illinois | February 27, 2020

View PDF

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

SPRINGFIELD, Illinois, Feb. 27, 2020 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 13 Missouri counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers who suffered losses caused by two separate disaster events may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Excessive Rain

Producers in Dunklin, Henry, Lewis, Ralls, and Ripley counties, who suffered losses due to excessive rain that has occurred since March 9, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Missouri counties of Audrain, Bates, Benton, Butler, Carter, Cass, Clark, Johnson, Knox, Marion, Monroe, New Madrid, Oregon, Pemiscot, Pettis, Pike, St. Clair, Shelby, and Stoddard, along with Clay, Craighead, Greene, Mississippi, and Randolph counties in Arkansas; and Adams, Hancock, and Pike counties in Illinois, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Excessive Rain and Flooding

Producers in Cass, Cedar, Dade, Jackson, Macon, St. Clair, Sullivan, and Wayne counties who suffered losses due to excessive rain and flooding that has occurred since March 9, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Missouri counties of Adair, Barton, Bates, Benton, Bollinger, Butler, Carter, Chariton, Clay, Greene, Grundy, Henry, Hickory, Iron, Jasper, Johnson, Knox, Lafayette, Lawrence, Linn, Madison, Mercer, Monroe, Polk, Putnam, Randolph, Ray, Reynolds, Shelby, Stoddard, and Vernon, along with Johnson, Miami, and Wyandotte counties in Kansas, are also

eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Oct. 19, 2020.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Please contact Doug Beers – Farm Loan Officer in Adams County at (217) 224-9307; David Ard – Farm Loan Manager in Hancock County at (217) 357-2188 and Blair Chapple – Farm Loan Officer in Pike County at (217) 285-5448. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov