

## Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

# USDA Designates 7 Connecticut Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Connecticut | July 10, 2023

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

**Impacted Area:** Connecticut

Triggering Disaster: Frost and Freeze

Application Deadline: March 5, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Hartford, Litchfield, Middlesex, New Haven, New London, Tolland,

Windham

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

Connecticut: Fairfield

**Massachusetts:** Berkshire, Hampden, Worcester **Rhode Island:** Providence, Kent, Washington

New York: Dutchess. Suffolk

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

### **Farm Service Agency:**

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

### **Contact:**

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov