

# USDA Designates 14 Oklahoma Counties Primary and Contiguous Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Oklahoma | July 11, 2023

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, Wyoming

Triggering Disaster: Drought Fast Track – Colorado

Incident Period: November 1, 2022

Application Deadline: November 17, 2023

#### Primary Counties Eligible:

**Colorado**: Adams, Arapahoe, Baca, Bent, Cheyenne, Crowley, Elbert, El Paso, Fremont, Kiowa, Kit Carson, Las Animas, Lincoln, Logan, Morgan, Otero, Phillips, Prowers, Pueblo, Sedgwick, Washington, Weld, Yuma

#### Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Colorado: Boulder, Broomfield, Chaffee, Costilla, Custer, Denver, Douglas, Huerfano, Jefferson, Larimer, Park, Saguache, Teller Kansas: Cheyenne, Greeley, Hamilton, Morton, Sherman, Stanton, Wallace Nebraska: Chase, Cheyenne, Deuel, Dundy, Kimball, Perkins New Mexico: Colfax, Union Oklahoma: Cimarron Wyoming: Laramie

Triggering Disaster 2: Drought Fast Track—Kansas

Incident Period: November 11, 2022

#### Application Deadline: November 17, 2023

**Primary Counties Eligible**: Kansas-Allen, Anderson, Barber, Barton, Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Clark, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Crawford, Decatur, Edwards, Elk, Ellis, Ellsworth, Finney, Ford, Franklin, Gove, Graham, Grant, Gray, Greeley, Greenwood, Hamilton, Harper, Harvey, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearny, Kingman, Kiowa, Labette, Lane, Lincoln, Logan, Lyon, McPherson, Marion, Meade, Montgomery, Morton, Neosho, Ness, Norton, Osage, Osborne, Pawnee, Phillips, Pratt, Rawlins, Reno, Rice, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Scott, Sedgwick, Seward, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, Sumner, Thomas, Trego, Wallace, Wichita, Wilson, Woodson

#### Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Colorado: Baca, Cheyenne, Kiowa, Kit Carson, Prowers, Yuma
Kansas: Chase, Dickinson, Douglas, Jewell, Johnson, Linn, Miami, Mitchell, Morris, Ottawa, Saline, Shawnee, Wabaunsee
Missouri: Barton, Jasper, Newton, Vernon
Nebraska: Dundy, Franklin, Furnas, Harlan, Hitchcock, Red Willow, Webster
Oklahoma: Alfalfa, Beaver, Cimarron, Craig, Grant, Harper, Kay, Nowata, Osage, Ottawa

Triggering Disaster 4: Drought Fast Track – Texas

Incident Period: November 1, 2022

#### Application Deadline: November 17, 2023

**Primary Counties Eligible**: Texas: Andrews, Atascosa, Austin, Bailey, Bandera, Bell, Bexar, Blanco, Borden, Bosque, Briscoe, Brooks, Brown, Burnet, Caldwell, Callahan, Carson, Castro, Childress, Clay, Cochran, Coke, Coleman, Collingsworth, Colorado, Comal, Comanche, Concho, Cooke, Coryell, Cottle, Crosby, Dallam, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Dimmit, Duval, Eastland, Edwards, Erath, Falls, Fayette, Fisher, Floyd, Foard, Frio, Gaines, Garza, Gillespie, Glasscock, Gonzales, Gray, Grayson, Guadalupe, Hale, Hall, Hamilton, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley, Haskell, Hays, Hemphill, Hidalgo, Hill, Howard, Hutchinson, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Jones, Kendall, Kenedy, Kent, Kerr, Kimble, King, Kinney, Kleberg, Knox, Lamb, Lampasas, Lavaca, Limestone, Lipscomb, Llano, Lubbock, Lynn, McCulloch, McLennan, Martin, Mason, Maverick, Medina, Menard, Midland, Milam, Mills, Mitchell, Montague, Moore, Motley, Nolan, Ochiltree, Oldham, Palo Pinto, Parker, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Real, Roberts, Robertson, Runnels, San Saba, Scurry, Shackelford, Sherman, Starr, Stephens, Sterling, Stonewall, Swisher, Taylor, Terry, Tom Green, Travis, Uvalde, Val Verde, Washington, Webb, Wheeler, Wichita, Wilbarger, Williamson, Wilson, Yoakum, Zapata, Zavala

#### Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

**Texas**: Archer, Armstrong, Bastrop, Baylor, Brazos, Burleson, Cameron, Collin, Crockett, Denton, DeWitt, Donley, Ector, Ellis, Fannin, Fort Bend, Freestone, Grimes, Hockley, Hood, Irion, Jack, Jackson, Johnson, Karnes, La Salle, Lee, Leon, Live Oak, McMullen, Madison, Navarro, Nueces, Reagan, San Patricio,

Schleicher, Somerville, Sutton, Tarrant, Terrell, Throckmorton, Upton, Victoria, Waller, Wharton, Willacy, Winkler, Wise, Young

New Mexico: Curry, Lea, Quay, Roosevelt, Union

**Oklahoma**: Beaver, Beckham, Bryan, Cimarron, Cotton, Ellis, Harmon, Jackson, Jefferson, Love, Marshall, Roger Mills, Texas, Tillman

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

### Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

## **Contact:**

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov