

# Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

# <u>USDA Designates 4 South Carolina Counties as Primary Natural Disaster</u> Areas Due to Recent Freeze and Frost

News Release | South Carolina | July 12, 2023

View PDF

Eleven Contiguous Counties in South Carolina Also Eligible for Assistance

These Secretarial natural disaster designations allow the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: South Carolina

Triggering Disaster 1: Freeze

Application Deadline: 3/11/2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Greenville

**Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:** 

South Carolina: Abbeville, Anderson, Laurens, Pickens and Spartanburg

North Carolina: Henderson, Polk and Transylvania

Triggering Disaster 2: Frost and Freeze

Application Deadline: 3/11/2024

**Primary Counties Eligible:** Cherokee, Spartanburg and Union

### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

South Carolina: Chester, Fairfield, Greenville, Laurens, Newberry and York

North Carolina: Cleveland, Polk and Rutherford

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

## Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

### **Contact:**

**FPAC Press Desk** 

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov