

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 5 New Hampshire Counties as Contiguous Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | New Hampshire | July 12, 2023

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Triggering Disaster 1:

Impacted Area: Maine

Triggering Disaster: Frost

Application Deadline: March 5, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Androscoggin, Hancock, Oxford, Penobscot, Sagadahoc, Washington

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

New Hampshire: Carroll, Coos

Triggering Disaster 2:

Impacted Area: Massachusetts

Triggering Disaster: Freeze

Application Deadline: March 11, 2024

<u>Primary Counties Eligible:</u> Berkshire, Bristol, Essex, Franklin, Hampden, Hampshire, Middlesex, Norfolk, Plymouth, Worcester

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Connecticut: Hartford, Litchfield, Tolland, Windham

Massachusetts: Barnstable, Dukes, Suffolk

New Hampshire: Cheshire, Hillsborough, Rockingham

New York: Columbia, Dutchess, Rensselaer, Suffolk

Rhode Island: Bristol, Newport, Providence

Vermont: Bennington, Windham

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov