

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates 23 Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Qualifying Winter Storms

News Release | Texas | July 13, 2023

View PDF

Includes Declaration Amendments Making More Counties Eligible for Assistance

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Texas

Triggering Disaster #1: Severe Winter Storm

<u>Application Deadline</u>: December 21, 2023

<u>Primary Counties Eligible:</u> Bastrop, Blanco, Burleson, Burnet, Hays, Henderson, Kendall, Lee, Leon, Milam, Robertson, Travis, and Williamson

<u>Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:</u> Anderson, Bandera, Bell, Bexar, Brazos, Caldwell, Cherokee, Comal, Ellis, Falls, Fayette, Freestone, Gillespie, Guadalupe, Houston, Kaufman, Kerr, Lampasas, Limestone, Llano, Madison, Navarro, San Saba, Smith, Van Zandt, and Washington

Disaster 1, Amendment 1: Severe Winter Storm

Application Deadline: January 8, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Anderson, Falls, Gillespie, Hopkins, Kerr, Kimble, Limestone, and Red

River

<u>Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:</u> Bandera, Bell, Blanco, Bowie, Cherokee, Delta, Edwards, Franklin, Freestone, Henderson, Hill, Houston, Hunt, Kendall, Lamar, Leon, Llano, McLennan, Mason, Menard, Milam, Morrie, Navarro, Rains, Real, Robertson, Schleicher, Sutton, Titus, and Wood.

Oklahoma: Choctaw and McCurtain

Disaster 1, Amendment 2: Severe Winter Storm

Application Deadline: January 22, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Franklin

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Camp, Delta, Hopkin, Red River, Titus, and Wood

Disaster 1, Amendment 4: Severe Winter Storm

Application Deadline: March 1, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Comal

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Bexar, Blanco, Guadalupe, Hays and Kendall

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit fema.gov/assistance.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov		