

USDA Designates 3 Illinois Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Indiana Counties of Knox, Sullivan and Vigo Designated as Contiguous Counties

News Release | Indiana | July 13, 2023

View PDF

Indianapolis, July 13, 2023 - This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Illinois

Triggering Disaster: Tornadoes that occurred March 31, 2023

Application Deadline: March 11, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Bureau, Clark and Crawford

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Illinois: Coles, Cumberland, Edgar, Henry, Jasper, LaSalle, Lawrence, Lee, Marshall, Putnam, Richland, Stark and Whiteside.

Indiana: Knox, Sullivan and Vigo

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov